Congratulations to our 2016 Ontario Parks Partners Bursary recipients!

“Protecting the environment is up to us, and it makes me proud to know that for the last six years, I’m been a member of a team committed to doing just that.” — Morgan Miller, student bursary recipient

The summer student workforce is the life-blood of the Ontario Parks summer operating season. Our provincial parks simply could not operate without our student workers.

On November 25, parks staff, corporate partners and students gathered in Peterborough to award the 2016 Ontario Parks Partners Bursaries.

The Ontario Parks Partners Bursary was established in 2000 by several Ontario Parks corporate partners to recognize students who excel in their jobs with Ontario Parks. The $500.00 awards acknowledge the innovation and leadership of young people who work in Ontario’s provincial parks.

2016 Ontario Parks Bursary Awards
Dawn Whiteside – Coleman Canada, Sandy White – Southeast Zone Manger Ontario Parks, Owen Donkers – Craigleith, Tracey Mill – Assistant Deputy Minister, Bruce Bateman – Director Ontario Parks

Our 2016 winners drew praise for their roles as mentors, educators and innovators. Whether they were administering First Aid, managing recycling program or sharing park history and heritage with visitors, each student went above and beyond to earn their nomination.

Special congratulations to Rachel Miller, who received the Amber Booth Award

2016 Ontario Parks Bursary Awards Amber Booth recipient Rachel Miller

This award carries special recognition for bursary recipients whose efforts stand out in the areas of health, safety and wellness. Rachel’s willingness to help others became apparent through her involvement in a number of emergency situations throughout the summer, putting her First Aid training to work.

Student speaker Morgan Miller

“When people trust you and count on you, it can change the way you look at yourself.” — Morgan Miller, student bursary recipient

Morgan has been a valued member of Pinery Provincial Park‘s team for the past six summers, and it was wonderful to hear her talk about her experiences in the park.

We wish Morgan all the best while she pursues her studies the University of Toronto in the Neuroscience and Environmental Studies programs.

Without the support of the following partners, the bursary program would not be possible

Since 2000, our corporate partners have provided over $250,000 to our students.

Big thanks to our 2016-2017 partners!

Bush's Best Beans Coleman pepsi
wayfarer zip Friends of Sandbanks

The event was commemorated with a song from our Singing Superintendent Scott Thomas:

Congratulations to all our winners!

2016 Ontario Parks Bursary Award Winners

Amanda Kiersnowski
Killbear Provincial Park
Braydon Sissons
Wasaga Beach Provincial Park
Briana Clark
Mikisew Provincial Park
Brittany Williams
Sandbanks Provincial Park
Brye McMorran
Sibbald Point Provincial Park
Caroline Beddoe
Marten River Provincial Park
Cody Bassindale
Selkirk Provincial Park
Colin Murton
Bon Echo Provincial Park
Dalton Cain
Port Burwell Provincial Park
Douglas Hodgins
Awenda Provincial Park
Drew Bowman
Wheatley Provincial Park
Emily Gillespie
Algonquin Provincial Park
Emily Knights
Balsam Lake Provincial Park
Haleigh Conway
Neys Provincial Park
Haley West
Wakami Lake Provincial Park
Hannah Beach
Rideau River Provincial Park
Jacob Thompson
Algonquin Provincial Park
Jamie Thompson
Sandbar Lake Provincial Park
Josephine Robertson
White Lake Provincial Park
Karly Michaud
Samuel de Champlain Provincial Park
Kelly Maki
Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park
Kira Kuzemchuk
Blue Lake Provincial Park
Lauren Differ-Saxberg
Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
Lina Vermeer
Algonquin Provincial Park
Lisa Harrington
Grundy Lake Provincial Park
McKayla Hann
Bass Lake Provincial Park
Megan Vezina
Ivanhoe Lake Provincial Park
Melissa Crawford
Killarney Provincial Park
Mitchell Jackson
Main Office
Morgan Miller
Pinery Provincial Park
Nicole Bucik
Bronte Creek Provincial Park
Owen Donkers
Craigleith Provincial Park
Rachel Miller
Arrowhead Provincial Park
Rebecca Jones
Turkey Point Provincial Park
Savannah Dee
Frontenac Provincial Park
Suzanne Allison
Sharbot Lake Provincial Park
Trisha Baker
Emily Provincial Park
Tye Lamothe
Restoule Provincial Park
Tyler Black
Lake Superior Provincial Park
Wesley Hornby
Algonquin Zone Office

They truly do put the heart into the park!