group ohoto of 2019 bursary winner, partners and staff

Congratulations to our 2019 Ontario Parks Partners Bursary recipients!

The summer student workforce is the life-blood of the Ontario Parks summer operating season. Our provincial parks simply could not operate without our student workers.

This week, we gathered in Peterborough to award the 2019 Ontario Parks Partners Bursaries.

The Ontario Parks Partners Bursary was established in 2000 by several Ontario Parks corporate partners to recognize students who excel in their jobs with Ontario Parks. The $500.00 awards acknowledge the innovation and leadership of young people who work in Ontario’s provincial parks.

Assistant Deputy Minister Bruce Bateman congratulates and thanks our bursary winners and partners

Our 2019 winners drew praise for their roles as mentors, educators and innovators. Whether they were administering First Aid, managing recycling programs or sharing park history and heritage with visitors, each student went above and beyond to earn their nomination.

Special congratulations to Christopher Cole, who received the Amber Booth Award

This award carries special recognition for bursary recipients whose efforts stand out in the areas of health, safety and wellness.

Chris poses with his family and the Amber Booth plaque

As a member of Algonquin Provincial Park’s maintenance crew, Chris and his team members faced several hazards each and every day. Chris, more than all his peers, took safety very seriously.

This went beyond always ensuring that he and his peers were working in a safe manner with appropriate personal protective equipment, which Chris did constantly. He took charge of the team’s daily “tailgate safety meetings,” and suggested new safety matters to review and discuss during these meetings, and consistently brought safety concerns to supervisors.

Chris’s safety-oriented approach to his work made the Algonquin’s maintenance team perform in a safer and more efficient manner overall.

Our 2019 student speaker

Hearing about the experiences of our students is always a highlight of the ceremony. This year, Whitney Otis shared how her experiences working at Ontario Parks helped shape her music career.

Thanks to Whitney for bringing this special moment to our 2019 celebration.

Whitney is from Mattice, and has worked as a gate attendant at Nagagamisis Provincial Park for the past five summers. In the delivery of exceptional customer service, Whitney leads by example. Being completely bilingual, Whitney’s ability to converse in French and English seamlessly is a perfectly placed asset at Nagagamisis.

two people posing
Ontario Parks Director Jason Travers congratulates bursary winner Whitney Otis

Whitney was also instrumental in running the park’s Musical Campfire this past summer, which was a huge hit with campers. Whitney’s musical talents, initiative, and dedication make her an essential member of the Nagagamisis team.

Without the support of the following partners, the bursary program would not be possible

Since 2000, our corporate partners have provided over $250,000 to our students.

Big thanks to our 2019 partners!

Bush's Beans Coleman
Friends of Algonquin Park Friends of Charleston Lake
Friends of Frontenac friends of Killbear Friends of Murphys Point
friends of pinery Friends of Rushing River Friends of Sandbanks
Wayfarer RVs Pepsi

This song from our “Singing Superintendent” Scott Thomas commemorates all the amazing work and passion our summer students bring to parks:

Congratulations to all our 2019 winners!

group ohoto of 2019 bursary winner, partners and staff

Crystal Palubeskie
Algonquin Provincial Park
Christopher Cole
Algonquin Provincial Park
Madison Crumpton
Algonquin Provincial Park
Holly Bennett
Arrowhead Provincial Park
Caitlyn Carney
Bon Echo Provincial Park
Abigail Berendt
Bronte Creek Provincial Park
Kathryn Wu
Driftwood Provincial Park
Alyssa Rodwell
Earl Rowe Provincial Park
Abigail Honeyborne
Esker Lakes Provincial Park
Maya Dokis
Finlayson Point Provincial Park
Sarah Fillmore
Fitzroy Provincial Park
Hailey Huffman
Frontenac Provincial Park
Ryan Ethier
Ivanhoe Lake Provincial Park
Karadyn Kiviaho
Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park
Daniel Boulanger
Kettle Lakes Provincial Park
William Morrow
Komoka Provincial Park
Alexandra Gaspar
Lake Superior Provincial Park
Nicholas Ritchie
MacGregor Point Provincial Park
Angus Rawding
Mikisew Provincial Park
Austin Baker
Murphys Point Provincial Park
Whitney Otis Nagagamasis Provincial Park Cameron George
Pinery Provincial Park
Sydney Fuller
Point Farms Provincial Park
Elaine Donck
Port Burwell Provincial Park
Sabrina Dopking
Presqu’ile Provincial Park
Amy Pitura
Quetico Provincial Park
Brynn Thompson
Rainbow Falls Provincial Park
Jake Geisler
Restoule Provincial Park
Anastasia Heuvelmans
Rondeau Provincial Park
Anna Kramer
Rushing River Provincial Park
Mary-Ann Rouse
Samuel de Champlain Provincial Park
Amanda Johnson
Sandbanks Provincial Park
Aiden Riddell
Sharbot Lake Provincial Park
Avery Hudon
Silent Lake Provincial Park
Hayleigh Hunter
Silver Lake Provincial Park
Nicole Anderson
Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
Adrien Loudon
Southeast Zone Office
Harry Cowan
Turkey Point Provincial Park
Alexandra Campbell
Wabakimi Provincial Park
Issac Rondeau-McNair
Wakami Lake Provincial Park

You truly do put the heart into the park!