collage of bursary ceremony and winners

Congratulations to our 2017 Ontario Parks Partners Bursary recipients!

The summer student workforce is the life-blood of the Ontario Parks summer operating season. Our provincial parks simply could not operate without our student workers.

Last week, park staff, corporate partners and students gathered in Peterborough to award the 2017 Ontario Parks Partners Bursaries.

The Ontario Parks Partners Bursary was established in 2000 by several Ontario Parks corporate partners to recognize students who excel in their jobs with Ontario Parks. The $500.00 awards acknowledge the innovation and leadership of young people who work in Ontario’s provincial parks.

student receiving bursary from park staff and partners
Student winner Noah Lasci is presented with his award.

Our 2017 winners drew praise for their roles as mentors, educators and innovators. Whether they were administering First Aid, managing recycling programs or sharing park history and heritage with visitors, each student went above and beyond to earn their nomination.

Special congratulations to Hudson Blue, who received the Amber Booth Award

Hudson Blue receiving special award

This award carries special recognition for bursary recipients whose efforts stand out in the areas of health, safety and wellness. This year’s winner, Hudson Blue, was involved in a number of emergency situations and rescues at Killarney Provincial Park.

In one instance, park staff responded to a call from an injured hiker on the trail up to “The Crack.” Hudson and a park warden travelled up to the casualty’s location and found more than a sprained ankle: the hiker had two broken bones in her leg.


After rendering First Aid, it was determined that helicopter extraction was necessary. The ORNGE air ambulance was able to land nearby, but not exactly at the casualty’s location. Hudson assisted in carrying the injured hiker up and across at least 100 m of steep, jagged terrain to the helicopter for a successful evacuation to the hospital.

Hudson performed as a reliable and effective member of the Killarney backcountry team who went over and above what would be expected of a summer student. Hudson expressed a willingness to help others in need and could be counted on to provide a compassionate presence in stressful situations. We were delighted to honour him at this year’s ceremony.

Student speaker Hudson Blue

“Congratulations to all the recipients. Thank you so much to the partners who make this all possible; we really appreciate what you guys do.

“The summer student program advertises an awesome experience, a good summer job, and that is exactly what it gives you. I can’t think of a more beautiful place to work, I can’t think of a better group of people to work with, and I can’t think of a better job.”

Without the support of the following partners, the bursary program would not be possible

partner speaking at podium

Since 2000, our corporate partners have provided over $250,000 to our students.

Big thanks to our 2017-2018 partners!

Bush's Beans Coleman Edge Screen Studios
Friends of Algonquin Park Friends of Charleston Lake Friends of Lake Superior
Friends of MacGregor Point Friends of Murphys Point Friends of Rushing River
Friends of Sandbanks French's Mark's Work Warehouse
Pepsi Wayfarer RVs Zip

This song from our Singing Superintendent Scott Thomas commemorates all the amazing work and passion our summer students bring to parks:

Congratulations to all our 2017 winners!

group shot of Ontario Parks bursary award winners of 2017

Alanna Behm
Chutes Provincial Park
Alex Leclerc
Voyageur Provincial Park
Alex Templar
Quetico Provincial Park
Anne Boulanger
Kettle Lakes Provincial Park
Carrie Williamson
Pinery Provincial Park
Ceilidh Brennan
Rushing River Provincial Park
Chardon Kozak
Silent Lake Provincial Park
Claire Coenen
White Lake Provincial Park
Dayna Duffy
Halfway Lake Provincial Park
Emalee Riddell
Sharbot Lake Provincial Park
Emily Ayers
Bass Lake Provincial Park
Emma Ankney
Blue Lake Provincial Park
Emma Fuller
Bon Echo Provincial Park
Eric Bayford
Nagagamisis Provincial Park
Georgina Preston
Frontenac Provincial Park
Grace Heys
Earl Rowe Provincial Park
Graham Mutchmor
Lake Superior Provincial Park
Hannah Ackerman
Sandbanks Provincial Park
Hannah Summers
Bonnechere Provincial Park
Hudson Blue
Killarney Provincial Park
Jenna White
Killbear Provincial Park
Jordan Ziese
Algonquin Provincial Park
Joshua Keefe
Silver Lake Provincial Park
Kyra Santin
Northwest Zone Office
Laura Moore
Algonquin Provincial Park
Lauren Barch
Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park
Mackenzie Taylor
Port Burwell Provincial Park
Mary Hadwen
Marten River Provincial Park
Matthew Thomson
Long Point Provincial Park
Mikaela Hinz
Point Farms Provincial Park
Noah Lasci
McRae Point Provincial Park
Olivia Baguley
Arrowhead Provincial Park
Rachel Humphrey
Darlington Provincial Park
Rebecca Evans
Turkey Point Provincial Park
Sam Nusselder
MacGregor Point Provincial Park
Sisitha Warnakulasuriya Arac
Algonquin Provincial Park
Taylor Bishop
Samuel de Champlain Provincial Park
Taylor Ives
Wheatley Provincial Park
Teija Opitz
Bronte Creek Provincial Park
Vanessa Cayouette
Rene Brunelle Provincial Park

You truly do put the heart into the park!