Today’s post comes from Katherine Muzyliwsky, a Natural Heritage Education Student at Neys Provincial Park.
Before Neys became a provincial park, it was known as Neys Camp 100. Instead of happy campers on vacation, the park held German prisoners of war during World War II.
After operating as a prisoner of war camp from 1941-1946, the buildings were dismantled in 1953. Since then, artifacts have showed up from discoveries in the park and from generous donations.
Continue reading Neys’ relics from the past
Planning a cross-province adventure? Check out the Ontario Parks Driving Routes.
This route will take you to a few of the hidden gems of the Ontario Parks system. You’ll stop in parks containing some of the richest history that Ontario has to offer.
Continue reading Explore Ontario’s history on the North of Algonquin Route
Today’s post comes from Laura Myers, a Marketing Specialist with Ontario Parks.
Approximately 70 years ago, Neys Provincial Park’s campground looked very different than it does today.
During World War II, the area now known as Neys Provincial Park was referred to as Neys Camp 100.
Instead of campers, it mainly held high-ranking German prisoners of war (POW). The camp operated from 1941 to 1946.
Continue reading From prisoner of war camp to provincial park
2015 marks the 400th anniversary of Samuel de Champlain’s exploration of Ontario!
To celebrate, why not plan a history-themed journey that follows his route? These are a few of the (future) provincial parks Champlain paddled through four centuries ago!
Continue reading Champlain in Ontario Parks
Many of us learned about Samuel de Champlain — French explorer and founder of New France back in the 1600s — in history class. Many of us have forgotten what we learned about him, and some of us have never heard of him. This year, 2015, marks the 400th anniversary of the exploration of Ontario by Samuel de Champlain, so it seems like a good time to take another look.
Continue reading 400th anniversary of Samuel de Champlain’s exploration of Ontario
Jesse Parent has been going to Bon Echo Provincial Park every year for close to a decade. In fact, the well-known Kitchener musician is so taken by the beauty of Bon Echo, he’s written a song – a “love letter,” he calls it – which he performed at the park’s 50th anniversary celebration on July 21, 2015.
Continue reading 50 years of Bon Echo
Bert Edmundson and Eugene McIsaac had the same dream more than 50 years ago: to honor the fabled Canadian lumberjacks of yesteryear. Little did they know their dream would one day become a major Ontario Parks attraction!
Continue reading Timber Tales: Marten River’s “Winter Camp”