Child with lifejacket holds up yellow perch

The Learn to Fish road show

Ever wanted to try the Learn to Fish program? Well, you’re in luck because the Learn to Fish team is hitting the road!

The mobile unit is stocked with fishing gear, and the crew is headed out on their 2017 park tour. They’ll be stopping by at almost a dozen provincial parks to bring Learn to Fish to you.

The Learn to Fish program is a totally free, two-hour session where you’ll learn everything you need to go fishing on your own.

2017 park tour dates

Learn to Fish team waves at camera from truck and trailer.

The program is offered on the dates and times specified below, and is available for free to visitors at these locations.

To participate, please register with staff when you arrive at the park. Registration is on a first come, first served basis. Program attendance will be capped at approximately 40 people for each program.

Park tour

Balsam Lake Provincial Park Wednesday, July 26; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Long Point Provincial Park Friday, July 28; 3:00 pm Map to this location
Long Point Provincial Park Saturday, July 29; 10:00 am Map to this location
Fitzroy Provincial Park Friday, August 4; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Bon Echo Provincial Park Saturday, August 5; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Bon Echo Provincial Park Sunday, August 6; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Algonquin Provincial Park Friday, August 11; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Algonquin Provincial Park Saturday, August 12; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Algonquin Provincial Park Sunday, August 13; 10:00 am Map to this location
Balsam Lake Provincial Park Wednesday, August 16; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Silent Lake Provincial Park Tuesday, August 22; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Mikisew Provincial Park Friday, August 25; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Sturgeon Bay Provincial Park Saturday, August 26; 10:00 am Map to this location
Kilbear Provincial Park Sunday, August 27; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location
Bonnechere Provincial Park Friday, September 1; 10:00 am, 1:00 pm Map to this location

Learn to Fish instructor with boy holding up fish

Special events

Children’s Festival August 20 Burlington, Ontario, Spencer Smith Park
Kids, Cops & Canadian Tire August 21 Port Hope, Ontario

Park schedule

Children with lifejackets fish off a dock

Learn to Fish sessions are also held weekly at several different parks!

The two-hour Learn to Fish program is offered 4 to 6 times per week at the following locations from mid-June to August.

To participate, please register with staff when you arrive at the park or conservation area. Please arrive 10 minutes before the scheduled time.

For more information or to find a Learn to Fish location near you click here.